

The University of Queensland Tennis Club Inc. Newsletter



28 January 2018

www.uqtc.org.au

MIXED DOUBLES

Tennis Australia's Summer of Tennis has petered out after the Australian Open, but the **UQ Tennis Club's Summer of Tennis** is still going strong with its **Singles Fixtures** on 30 January, 6 February & 13 February, the **Summer Series Mixed Doubles Tournament** on 3 February and the **Summer Series Singles Tournament** on 17 February.

The Sizzling Summer Series Mixed Doubles Tournament will be played on Saturday night, 3 February from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Events are offered at four levels to cater for players of all standards, from a Social Blue Tag player to a Pennant Grade Fixtures player. The tournament will be played to completion in one night and will use round-robin formats to keep everybody playing. So, if you haven't lodged an entry yet, chase up a partner and enter today. Sunday Afternoon and Thursday Night Social Tennis are good places to look for a partner. The deadline for entries for the Summer Mixed Doubles Tournament is Thursday, 1 February.

Entry in the Summer Series Tournaments is open to non-members but members get an entry discount.

For more information about the Summer Series Tournaments and the links to enter, go to <u>https://www.uqtc.org.au</u>. Entry forms are available from the UQ Tennis Clubhouse.

The **Summer Series Singles Tournament** will be played on Saturday night, 17 February from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. Entries for the Summer Singles Tournament close on Thursday, 15 February.

Follow all the action at the UQ Tennis Club on Facebook

www.facebook.com/uqtennis



2018 Summer Series Doubles Tournament Prize Winners Carl Miller, Andy Jeong, Jenna Rayner, Peter Sallans, Ashley Wilkinson, Robert Raven, Robert Dair, John Pollock, Alex Khromykh, Craig Lam, David Kimber, Susan Koh, Michael Cottam, Firozah Shariati, Ariana Franke, Nick Stagg and Lorraine Lauf See Overleaf for the Tournament Report



UQ Tennis News

Incorporation Number: IA32840

Page 2

Summer Doubles Tournament

The UQ Tennis Club's 2018 Tournament Program is off to a good start with 32 players participating in the **Summer Series Doubles Tournament** played on Saturday night, 20 January,

The tournament was played using roundrobin formats to keep everybody playing. All players got lots of Tennis and all events were fairly evenly matched. The B Grade Men's event was particularly close with nobody winning all their sets, only 1 game separating the winners & runners-up and the outcome determined by the final match which finished just minutes before lights-out.

The event winners were Susan Koh & Lorraine Lauf (C Grade Ladies), Carl Miller & Andy Jeong (C Grade Men), Ariana Franke & Firozah Shariati (B Grade Ladies), Alex Khromykh & Peter Sallans (B Grade Men), Jenna Rayner& Ashley Wilkinson (A Grade Ladies) and Robert Dair & John Pollock (A Grade Men).

The prize winners in the **HEAD Lucky Draw** were David Kimber, Craig Lam, Robert Raven, Michael Cottam and Nick Stagg.

First Semester Fixtures

Fixtures are the best option for players wanting a regular competitive game.

The UQ Tennis Club runs internal Teams Fixtures on Monday, Tuesday & Thursday nights and enters teams in BNTA Wednesday Night Fixtures.

All new Fixtures members must attend a grading session:

Monday 19 February	7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Wednesday 21 February	7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Monday 26 February	7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Wednesday 28 February	7 p.m. to 9 p.m.

The deadline for Fixtures entries is Wednesday 28 February.

All Fixtures start in the week beginning 12 March.

Membership/Fixtures application forms are available from the Clubhouse and can also be downloaded from <u>www.uqtc.org.au</u> where entries can be lodged on-line.

THE UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND TENNIS CLUB INC.

Established 1911 ABN: 59 637 930 769

Management Committee:

President	
Vice-Presidents	
Hon. Secretary	
Hon. Treasurer	
Executive Officers	

Immediate Past President

Administration: Office Location

Postal Address Office Phones Office Hours E-Mail Web Site Facebook

Ashley WilkinsonPh0427047 (m)Robert RavenPh0435626143 (m)Colin PrincePh0421542282 (m)Doug BergmanPh0409090299 (m)Craig LamPh0438537976 (m)Jo Baulch, Rebecca Craig, David Drew, Anna Hurley,
Danny Moore, Michael O'Shea, Peter Sallans,
Christen Spencer, Ken Thams
Hank SzetoRebecca Warner

The University of Queensland Tennis Pavilion (Building 28), Blair Drive, UQ St Lucia Campus P.O. Box 6005, St Lucia, Qld 4067 3371 4974 (phone) and 3870 5002 (fax) Variable (volunteer staffed) admin@uqtc.org.au https://www.uqtc.org.au https://www.facebook.com/uqtennis

2017 GRAND PRIX RESULTS

The **2017 Grand Prix Champions** were **Ashley Wilkinson** and **Colin Prince**. The Runners-Up were Christeen Spencer and Robert Dair.

The Trophies and prizes for the Winners and Runners-Up were presented at the Club's Christmas Party on 3 December.

The final Top Ten Point Scorers in the 2017 Grand Prix were:

Ladies - 1. Ashley Wilkinson (156.0 pts); 2. Christeen Spencer (100.0); 3. Susan Ko (70.5 pts); 4. Jo Baulch (56.0 pts); 5. Sabrina Blaas (38.0 pts); 6. Lorraine Lauf (36.0 pts); 7. Rebecca Warner (35.5 pts); 8. Lan Ho & Rachel Witte (34.0 pts); 10. Masako Yo-

shino (32.0 pts)

Men - 1. Colin Prince (184.0 pts); 2. Robert Dair (180.0 pts); Mark Hodgson (130.0 pts); 4. Craig Lam (98.5 pts); 5. David Drew (91.5 pts); 6. Bruce Franke (88.0 pts); 7. Lucas Hughes (83.8 pts); 8. William Thompson (80.0 pts); 9. Marco Sulzbacher (77.7 pts); 10. Andrew Holden (77.3 pts)

The Grand Prix is an award competition for all UQ Tennis Club Ordinary, Associate & Junior members. Restricted Members are not eligible for the Grand Prix. Players earn points for their participation and level of success in Club tournaments and sanctioned unrestricted open tournaments played from January to November. As points are cumulative, those who play the most tournaments will be among the leading points scorers. As the points are the same at all levels, an ITN 7 player has just as much chance as an ITN 4 player of winning the Grand Prix.



2017 Grand Prix Winners & Runners-Up: Colin Prince, Ashley Wilkinson, Christeen Spencer and Robert Dair holding their prizes and trophies